Skip to content

Malaise

August 3, 2010

I see it in your eyes; I see it in mine.
An emptiness.  A vagueness.  We do not know where we are going
And we do not remember from where we have come.
It wasn’t always this way you know.  Once (upon a time)
Life had meaning and was filled with awe.  A Divine fire
Burned and our eyes danced with a flicker of something deep within.
Something tangible and real.
We knew love.  And life—vibrant life.

But now.  Oh now!  What has happened?  When did our eyes become so hollow?
These are not the eyes of ones who are loved!
Darkness has settled and we aimlessly wander on.
The flame is gone, no longer lighting our way—or warming our hearts.
Yet, deep within, we know.
We know that fire and love are quite similar.  Synonymous maybe.
Both burn brightly when attended to.  Both die when forgotten.
And so we wander on with hollow eyes and sorrowful hearts.
For we have forgotten.
Our first Love.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 11:10

    Awesome image bro. Fires and love burn when attended, and die when forgotten. Beautiful image.

    • jonathangroover permalink*
      August 4, 2010 11:13

      Thanks Bill!

      The last time I wrote a poem was in my Creative Writing class in college. I recently lost a bet with a friend and the condition was that I had to write a poem. So here it is. I have no idea what I’m doing, but I’ve noticed the “malaised” look in myself and many other Christians as of late, so I wrote about it. It was a wonderful experience. I’ve always appreciated the poetry and music of others, but have never ventured to do it on my own.

  2. August 4, 2010 4:59

    jon, i was there. i really was just there. it was a dark experience. and i’m thankful for His grace that brought me out. now that i’m back, remembering my first love, all i want to do is to bask in His presence, draw close to Him and listen to His voice. it’s amazing, humbling and overwhelming. even i’m scared of multiple things, i am confident that He will help me to will and act according to His good purpose.

    beautiful, bro.

    • jonathangroover permalink*
      August 4, 2010 11:13

      Mink,

      I’m glad you are returning to your first and real love. I hope everything is going well in your ministry and job. It may get tiring, but you are doing something amazing. Keep at it.

  3. August 5, 2010 10:18

    beautifully done.

    • jonathangroover permalink*
      August 6, 2010 2:20

      Cortni,

      Thank you. 🙂 I guess it’s better late than never eh?

  4. August 7, 2010 6:19

    exactly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

