Skip to content

Some Picture Blogs

May 12, 2009

While I would love to blog regularly, blogging for me is still a sporadic endeavor when a thought hits me hard enough to where I feel like I must share it.  These thoughts are probably never that good, but blogs are a way to get important thoughts down that I would love to come back to some day.  It’s my personal file cabinet.  There are a thousand things that I would enjoy blogging about, but few of them hit me hard enough to actually do it.  Oddly enough, beer and tornadoes did inspire a few posts.  🙂

I do have some thoughts brewing (no pun intended) and eventually they will spew forth, and some substantial (hopefully) blogs will ensue, but right now, I’ve got nothing.  These are the times when those long periods of silence on my blog surface, and I hate them.  SO…I do have two years of experience of teaching in another country, and I thought I would spend a few posts putting up some pictures of different experiences.  I plan to  write about my time in Thailand as well, but in these three weeks since I’ve been home, a great deal is STILL sinking in…plus with that whole “spewing” thing, it may take a while before it issues forth.  In the mean time, here are some pictures of my students for your enjoyment:

GES Christmas Banquet 007

These are some of my kids and their friends during our Christmas banquet.  Thai people from Bangkok are incredibly stylish as you can see.  By the way, that is my stinkin awesome “James Bond” suit that I got made for $120.  I was pretty pumped about that.

GES Christmas Banquet 019Here they are after their skit that night.  These kids are super creative and talented!  As their homeroom teacher I was in charge of directing a project for them to present for the stage that night, and being a lazy teacher at the time…I said, “You guys have to come up with this, or we will just sing a cheesy song and embarrass ourselves.”  They came up with a very cool skit.  By the way, that is NOT a girl on the far left.  That’s Katak.  For some reason, these guys love to have skits where a guy dresses up like a girl.  Not sure what that’s all about…:)

Bangkok, Students, Friends, July-September 065These are some of my very sweet, but very shy 10th grade girls.  From the left:  Jetaime, Fern, Anna, Toey, and formerly Golf II, but because Golf I left, she is now Golf.Bangkok, Students, Friends, July-September 123

A few of the 12th graders at a science field trip.  From the left:  Champ, Tee (with the grossed out face), Ben, Math, Kish (the girl), Katak (11th grade).

DSC_5447This is our chapel that we had on Thursdays.  I led the 8th grade team for music.  I have to say…we rocked it pretty good.  Even if the kids aren’t showing it!  I will have a picture blog for chapel next.

DSC_5489Told you we rocked! 🙂  This is Miss Tiffany.  She’s a pretty good friend of mine and she’s quite the dancer.  Seriously.  Okay one more…I’ve realized I can do a hundred of these blogs!!

DSC_1-10Okay, these are not my students but they are kindergarteners at my school.  This is a photo from the son of the administrators of the school:  Satta.  He’ a pretty great photographer

Anyway, these are some of the pleasures of teaching overseas!  If you have a teaching degree and want some adventure…go for it.

Blessings.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. marycooke permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:46

    Hi from another overseas teacher (Taiwan)! Think you would like my blog — have a look. http://onewhitetree.wordpress.com/ Blessings, Mary

    • jonathangroover permalink*
      May 13, 2009 9:21

      Thanks Mary for visiting! I just checked out your site and really enjoyed it. You have a great layout by the way! It’s cool to meet other Christian overseas teachers. Are you still there in Taiwan?

  2. May 13, 2009 10:40

    wow..

  3. May 21, 2009 4:09

    Jon, I like what you said about blogging that it’s your personal cabinet. And blogging doesn’t always have to be about “serious stuff” all the time. From a person who tends to forget a lotta details like me, blogging and journaling keep me aware of things in the past and give me some directions for the present. 😉 Thanks for sharing the pictures tho!

  4. Matt Bohlman permalink
    June 19, 2009 3:21

    Awesome pictures!

  5. September 3, 2009 1:13

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

    • jonathangroover permalink*
      September 5, 2009 5:37

      Thanks Bill!

Leave a Reply

