Skip to content

A Brief Update

February 15, 2009

Wsorry1ell, it’s been well over three months since my last post. That is unfortunate.  The same lame excuse is unfortunately in order.

Teaching English to second language learners is no easy task. Once we get going into full swing, a large portion of my time is devoted to this attempt to teach. Because most of my energy goes into this, blogging just seems to fall by the wayside. After about two weeks of no blogging, I just kind of give up. This is a shame really, because I  end up wanting to blog again and have to kind of start over.

So, here I am, starting over with just a little bit of an update.

Life in Thailand is good. I love this country and the experience has been incredible. However, back in December, I made the decision that I would not return for another year. The main reason for this is that I would like to pursue my Masters (in Divinity) full time. Taking one class a semester online (that’s as much as I can handle teaching three separate English classes) will allow me to graduate in 15 years!! That’s not really an option, so going back to make some progress on this is what I’ve decided to do.

What helped me make that decision was a Christian international school in Thailand that has positions for student ministries coordinators and classes for Bible, Christian Philosophy and so forth. When I heard about these positions, my heart stronly reawakened to what it is that I want to do: minister and teach Theology and Biblical studies. I applied for the ministry position, but they promptly wrote back and said “re-apply when you have a Biblical Studies or Theological Studies degree.” So, because continuing to teach English is not a desire (at all!), and doing what I want to do will require a continuing in my studies, coming home is the right decision for me.

I have about six more weeks of teaching, and then some traveling, and then I will return home. Part of me hopes that it’s not forever; I would love to return to Thailand someday. But, I’m ready to come back for awhile, internalize what God has been doing these last two years, reconnect with family and friends, and pursue this passion and desire that I believe God has placed on my heart.

I may or may not blog over the next six weeks. I will make no more promises! 🙂 But, I hope to recount some of the adventures and post some pictures of my last three months. We’ll see.

Be blessed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 8:07

    do come back
    do come back
    do come back
    please………:)

Leave a Reply

