Skip to content

I’m a graduate student!

August 31, 2008

Well, It’s August 31, and I’m two under my commitment to blogging 5 times a month.  But honestly, I just haven’t had anything worth talking about lately.  I could blog about mundane things, but what would be the point of that…and who would want to read it anyway?

However, I do have something worth blogging about, because on Tuesday I will officially be a graduate student pursuing a Master’s of Divinity (at this point…Sam I can still change my mind! 🙂 )  at Asbury Theological Seminary.  I’m doing the work online seeing as how I’m on the other side of the world, but I just have to tell you, I am EXCITED!  It’s weird to be taking a class where I want to read the books and write the papers and post the discussions!  I enjoyed my undergrad, but most of the time, I did just what I had to to get by…but this is going to be different I can already tell (I’m already working on my first book…I got the syllabus ahead of time). 

So here is a brief overview of the course.  It’s called “Christian Formation:  Kingdom, Church, and World,”  and this particular course will have to do mainly with what the Kingdom of God looks like and how it affects the world that we live in here and now.  I’m already reading Kingdom Come by Allen Wakabayashi, and it has to do with the fact that what Jesus came to do and preach was the coming of the Kingdom of God.  God’s kingdom has already come!  It’s happening now!  And it will be consummated at His return.  But it has already come

Some of the other books that I will be reading are:  Christians at the Border: Immigration, The Church, and the Bible; Resident Aliens; The Next Christendom: The Coming of Global Christianity,;Models of the Kingdom; Kingdom, Church, and World: Biblical Themes for Today

A few of these books have to deal with how the Kingdom is expressed to the marginalized (either culturally and racially), and that is significant, because I’m in a culture that has been marginalized (developing nation) somewhat. 

In any case, I’m pretty pumped about it, in spite of the pretty large workload that I have to balance along with school.  It’s weird to have something that you are excited about studying.  I have a degree in English, and I love reading; but, I wasn’t passionate about my studies in undergrad.  I wrote the papers because I had to, not because I wanted to read and write about what I was reading.  It was a chore.  Now, I’m not oblivious to the fact that this will be difficult and at times a burden.  I just think that this was what I’m cut out for.  I’ll let you know.

In any case, maybe I’ll have some stuff to blog about soon! 🙂 

Blessings.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Brie permalink
    September 2, 2008 7:51

    Yes! His kingdom has already come! This is one of the foundational principles I live by! I’ll have to look into that book–it sounds interesting. I am also a graduate student now, btw. I’m getting my Masters in English Education. I have 3 classes: Advanced Exposition, Educational Statistics (YUCK!!!!!!), and Exceptional Learners. I’m excited about all except for the obvious. Haha! I’m taking Monday and Tuesday night classes and one online, which only adds craziness to our already hectic schedule. But if I don’t start it now, when am I going to? When I have 3 kids, and I am back working full-time? :)~

  2. jonathangroover permalink*
    September 2, 2008 9:00

    Hey Brie! It’s good to hear from you. That’s so exciting about your Master’s. I’m actually thinking about starting an online Master’s of Teaching as well. I don’t know if that would put off seminary or not, but having a Master’s would ensure that I would have a job anywhere I go…so I’m praying about that.

    Educational statistics does sound pretty boring. Good luck juggling life and school…there’s something sweet about that undergraduate experience of no responsibilities but school. Tell T.C. hello!

  3. Brie Cooley permalink
    September 3, 2008 9:40

    Yes, sometimes I miss that time… haha. I will tell TC you said hello. Also, I was reading the news this morning, and it sounds like there is a lot of unrest in Thailand. How is that going? Trying not to be concerned…I know you are protected. 🙂

  4. Sam permalink
    September 10, 2008 3:47

    Ahhh..the M.Div. Oh well… 🙂

    Hey, ANY master’s degree work is impressive in my book. It’s nice when you actually want to read the books you’re assigned huh? 🙂 Good luck, my friend – tell me how it goes.

  5. jonathangroover permalink*
    September 10, 2008 8:25

    Sam,

    I know..I know…I’m stubborn. 🙂 Listen, I want to send you my first response paper. It’s nothing big…just a response to the first book. I have to write six of them. I enjoyed writing it. And I need to call. This all snuck up on me and now I have no life…but that’s no reason not to call!

    You’re job sounds enormous! But I bet it’s good to be going full speed again. Tell the girls hello for me. I loved the pictures at the beach…Jamie posted a few on facebook…when are you going to join by the way?

  6. Sam permalink
    September 10, 2008 8:17

    Send it on – I’d love to read it…

    Call when you can bro – I know you’re busy. Yeah, the job is big but it’s good to be busy. Luckily I can still downshift in the evenings and on Fridays. I’m still a half stay-at-homer and half worker bee. Who knew?

    Vacation was fine. Facebook huh? Who’s gonna want to see me out there? Though Jamie has a ton of mutual college friends who’ve “befriended” him. With my luck, I’ll sign up and everyone will have moved to a different social network and I’ll be left with all the internet psychopaths trying to “add” me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

