Skip to content

Weekend Fun in Bangkok

August 11, 2008

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, but I thought I would give everyone plenty of time to reflect upon my deep theological discussion of alcohol! 🙂  Just kidding.  Actually, I’ve just been busy teaching, and too lazy to post again.

This post will be short (trying to fulfill my commitment of five a month…so I will cheat on this one and post pictures), but I thought I would give everyone a little look into an occasional weekend hobby of mine:  air-soft.  Every once in a while, one of my 10th grade students takes me to this spot in Bangkok where 50 to 60 guys (and girls) gather together every weekend, decked out in S.W.A.T. gear and shoot each other with quick moving, little white beads that hurt something fierce!  It’s so much fun!

That’s me (above) after I was shot.  When you get killed you have to throw your hands up in the air and walk off the field…otherwise you will get shot hundreds of times.  These guys bring fully automatic machine guns that can put out 30-60 rounds a second.

Most people like to deck out in full clothing, but I like to feel the sting of these bb’s, so I wear under armor instead.

This is my student:  Tam.  Unfortunately, he’s moving to Canada in a few weeks to do high school there.  So I don’t know who will take me to this place anymore.  I am sad.

If I felt like spending $200 (that’s a lot for me), I would buy this sweet vest, so I could look the guys that I shoot, but alas.

In any case, this is a mighty fun way to spend a Saturday afternoon.  We get there around 12:00 and play until 6:00 sometimes.  My legs are like jello by the end of it.  I think we need to get this started in Thomasville (my home town).  It’s cheaper (and maybe more fun) than paint ball.

Blessings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tracey permalink
    August 13, 2008 8:14

    I’ve got to show David these pictures!

  2. Brie permalink
    September 2, 2008 7:40

    First it was paintball but not it is air soft with our youth group. After I saw these picutures, I thought I would tell you that TC has been taking a lot of the youth group out to a Nike Missle base that our church owns (Pastor was going to turn into into a house for people with addictions, but the county, after purchase, wouldn’t allow it) to play there. They have an absolute blast, and it is all they talk about for days following. They are going again this Friday!

  3. March 10, 2010 9:30

    Yes, airsoft has that effect one people. We have been playing on weekends since 1984 when our country is still under martial law, using only springers since they were the only ones available from Japan, then the “Gas Guns” came a year or two later, AEGs (airsoft electric gun) surfaced by early 90’s and has been there since then. Now, they have GBBRs (gas blow-back rifles) and electric blow-back rifles. It is a worldwide sport now played by people of all ages whether it be legal or not in Asia, the American continent, Europe and even in Russia. They have all kinds of scenarios and milsim thrown into playing with airsoft. And it has become a hobby too for those collectors of airsoft guns and most regular players definitely have their own collection of airsofts, vests, helmets, uniforms, com systems. Airsofts are also being used by re-enactors all over the world including cosplaying.

  4. Bill j permalink
    November 19, 2011 10:19

    When you say thomasville do you mean ga.?because I live on a farm between moultrie and thomasvile and I’m trying to get a little deeper into airsoft than just walmart guns so I was wondering if you knew of any airsoft parks near there

Leave a Reply

