Skip to content

A Monkey in the Sun

July 7, 2008

I had a very special 4th of July:  I saw my first monkey!!  One of my 10th grader’s mom brought their new pet to school for a visit.  It was just a baby, but man those things are intelligent.  You could look into its eyes and see the wheels turning up in that brain.  It was like a little person.  Remember Ben Stiller’s problem causing monkey in Night at the Museum?  This monkey’s personality was very similar.  Quite the mischievous one.  Seriously.

But also quite the cutie.

I spent the rest of my weekend in Hua Hin— a local hotspot where Thai people enjoy the beach.  It’s not as touristy as Phuket, the Phi Phi Islands, or Krabi, but it’s not as beautiful either.  The king does have a palace at Hua Hin.  It’s about three hours from Bangkok, and a great weekend getaway. 

We spent the day at the beach, and then for dinner we went to a nice little Italian resturant.  I ate spaghetti carbonara for a smashing…$5.00!  It was absolutely delicious.  Some of our friends went and had seafood (Thai seafood that is).  We ended our evening by going to a night market, Red Mango (an incredible Korean yogurt shop), and I went to my guesthouse while some went to hear some music.  All in all, a wonderful weekend.

The Hilton (I think)

The Hilton (I think)

 We did not stay there…

Being a missonary can be fun too! 🙂

 

Blessings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    July 7, 2008 6:54

    Hey bro –

    Thanks for all the great posts this past week – I’m loving it! Looks like you had a great weekend – who says you must suffer for Jesus in a foreign land? 🙂 The kid pictures were cute too…

    Sam

  2. jonathangroover permalink*
    July 7, 2008 8:43

    Hey bro!

    Thanks man! Yeah I’m having fun with this thing since putting pictures on it is so easy now. I can say less and show more!

    I was going to email you this weekend, but I’ve got a really sweet international calling card, so I would like to try to give you a call instead. When are you guys going on vacation?

  3. MOM permalink
    July 7, 2008 10:24

    Hey,
    Just had time to do some catching up since you’re blogging again. You look so happy and that makes a mom’s heart glad!
    I’ll be looking forward to more.

    Love,
    MOM

  4. jonathangroover permalink*
    July 8, 2008 9:04

    Thanks mom! This year is off to a great start…all that reading up in my room helped! 🙂

Leave a Reply

