Skip to content

Christmas Vacation: Chiang Mai Day 2-3

December 27, 2007

On Christmas day I did not get to open any presents under a tree or eat turkey and stuffing, or watch Lord of the Rings trilogy with my dad as I would have on another Christmas (wow, I miss that!).  However, God offered me a wonderful present by allowing me to experience the beauty of his creation.

We rode up to the hightest point in Thailand and spent the afternoon on top of a beautiful mountain.  I wish I could remember the name of it!  Riding bikes in the brisk cool wind (it actually got very cold later in the day) was amazing, and the sights were spectacular!  Pictures going out soon.

We also saw one of the villages up in the mountains.  We ran into one of the schools where the children were playing.  You could tell it was a poorly funded school, but in spite of that, the kids looked like they were having fun.  I’ve noticed something as I’ve run into the people who don’t have access to all the wealth and materialism that places like America and Bangkok have– they seem much happier.

Case and point.  Last night we had dinner with the friend who took us up on the mountain.  He invited one of his friends who lives nearby in a jungle village.  We went to an italian place and it was the first time he had ever had pizza!  But for not having the luxeries of the city life (or even civilization for that matter) this man was a joy to be around.  When asked if he would move to the city if he could, he said no, that he preferred his village in the jungle.

I wonder if having everything has really in the end taken life from us.  I wonder about the commandments of Jesus in Matthew 6 where he implores us not to worry about tommorrow, that he will take care of our clothes and food.  When was the last time you or I really obeyed that commandment?  It’s quite the opposite of the American dream or mentality, but I wonder if there is not some “blessedness” in having nothing.  He’s invited me to come stay with him and his famliy anytime I like and help him build bamboo rafts (that’s his living).  I may take him up on it and see if there is something to this life.

We will be leaving Chiang Mai later today to visit Chiang Rai for a couple of days.  Then we head into Burma and possibly Laos.  Please keep me in your prayers.

In His love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. bethanngroover permalink
    March 15, 2008 9:08

    I miss you.

Leave a Reply

