Skip to content

Christmas Vacation: Chiang Mai Day 1

December 26, 2007

What a way to spend Christmas Eve!  Now, let me say up front how much I missed my family this Christmas; it was really strange not being at home during this season.  However, what a way to spend Christmas eve!

On the 23rd my friend Matt and I traveled by train (a first for me) from Bangkok up to the very northern part of Thailand– Chiang Mai.  It is the second largest city in Thailand, but it looks very different than Bangkok.  It’s a beautiful city surrounded by mountains.  From what I’ve heard, many missionaries get here and stay (rather than move to Bangkok) because of how “capturing it is.”  It’s a beautiful place.

When we arrived (on the 24th), we rented motorbikes and rode up on one of the nearby mountains.  From there we had a view of the entire city!  It was incredible.  Then we continued up to the top where we visited a very beautiful temple.  I will be sending pictures out on email in a week or so.  Chiang Mai has a great deal of Buddhist temples all of which are exceptional in beauty.  If only they could see they beauty of Christ!

To wrap up my Christmas eve, I watched 3 hours of Muay Thai boxing.  I watched young men fight with a very unique style of kicking and punching.  I even watched young women fight!  It was a pretty cool first experience for me.

Aside from not being with family at Christmas for the first time in 24 years, this was a wonderful, blessed experience.  I am truly thankful.

Merry Christmas! 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

