Skip to content

Vacation: Day 2-Finish

October 31, 2007

Hello all,

I’ve been trying to write this for two weeks now.  I’m a terrible blogger.  So sorr!.  My laptop has started to malfunction a bit.  The backspace key, the g, and the h, have mysteriously stopped working.  Therefore it is quite challenging to type a blog or the like.  To any and all who may have messaged me or facebooked or whatever, that is the main reason I haven’t gotten back to you, apart from my awful flaw of forgetting to respond to people. 

In any case, I would like to give an update on the rest of my travels.  We spent the week in Phuket, a beach in Southern Thailand.  Phuket is world famous for a number of reasons:  beautiful beaches, friendly people, and a very lively nightlife (more on that).  The second day we were there was probably the most enjoyable in terms of seeing sights.  We drove motorbikes along the coast and saw the most beautiful beaches I have ever laid my eyes on.  It was breathtaking. 

To be honest, I wish I had done more.  Now, don’t get me wrong, this vacation was wonderful and terribly relaxing.  I needed that.  But I didn’t take advantage of where I was.  I could have gone snorkeling (spelling?) at the Phi Phi Islands (world class!) for around $100.  And I didn’t!! Because I was relaxing!  Now that I”m back at school I’m like, “man, that was a dumb call!”  But, thankfully there will be other opportunities to go.

One really frightening thing did happen that could have changed my life forever had not God’s hand been in the situation (at least as far as I’m concerned).  We were riding our bikes at night up on a small mountain hill (very small).  We were going around a turn and there were two slow bikers in front of us.  I had a friend on the back and I was trying to catch up with one of our other friends.  So I tried to pass.  However, there was a car coming around the turn at the same time.  I saw it but knew that I had already committed.  So I tried to wave through the car and the other biker.  In doing so, I nudged the biker ever so slowly (I couldn’t steer as well with the person on the back).  And he freaked out.  Before I knew it he had shot across the lane of traffic.  He barely missed the car and ran off the side of the road in a ditch.  I thought that I had just effectively ended someone’s life.  He should have been dead. 

 We immediately went to check on him, but oddly he was approaching me!  Of course he’s mad that I almost killed him.  So I start apologizing in the best way I know how (he’s Thai).  He then lets his shock overcome him and he sits down on the ground.  I think his leg was bruised.  Not broken, not ripped open…just bruised.  We lifted his bike out of the ditch and it seemed to be okay too.  I couldn’t believe it!  I just can’t express how easily he could have been killed.

The man was shaken pretty badly and so after he gathered his thoughts he spoke through a translator (we had a sizable crowd at this point) that he wanted 5000 baht.  I only make 23,000 baht a month and many Thais make anywhere from 6000-12000 if that tells you anything.  He was obviously poor and could have used the money.  So, I was happy to oblige him.  It didn’t involve the police or the hospital and I’d almost killed him, so I was okay with that.  It did kind of change the spending habits on the trip though.

I’m just glad he’s alive.  My life would have forever changed if I would have been repsonsible for someone’s death.

 In any case, that made it an eventful week…but maybe not eventful in the way I like it.  We relaxed, ate good food, and had good fellowship.  I am truly blessed.

 In His love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mink ^-^ permalink
    November 1, 2007 5:34

    this is the 2nd time i hear (or in this context, read), and i still feel both freaked out and thankful that you and the guy survived the tragedy. anyway, it also reminded me what an outrageous driver you are! lol

Leave a Reply

