Skip to content

Vacation: Day 1

October 15, 2007

Well, I’m sitting in my $20 hotel room (which is sweet by the way…refrigerator, cable t.v., wireless internet, hot shower), and figured I would write a little about my vacation.  I hope to be posting fairly regularly for at least this week.  I will be sending a lot of pictures out by email so be looking for those. 

I’m currently in Phuket, one of the resort beaches in Thailand.  It is actually a group of beaches all right next to each other.  We are just a small boat fairy from the Phi Phi Islands (“The Beach” with Leonardo DiCaprio was filmed here for an idea of what it looks like there) and Kra Bi, another beautiful island.  I hope to get to each of those for a day.  We are staying at a pretty sweet place.  The food last night was UNBELIEVABLE.  Literally one of the best hamburgers I’ve ever had.  Sunscreen cost me around $15, so there are things that can hurt  you too!  But I’m super excited to be spending time here relaxing.  It’s such a blessing and needed after a great but long semester of teaching.

 We took a flight from Bangkok to Phuket yesterday and I got to sit by my first genuine gay couple.  There was a 60 or so year old man with a guy about my age.  I’m guessing he was kind of a boy toy.  There are a lot of people (men and women) in Thailand who will for the right price be your travelling companion while you’re here.  You can literally pay someone to provide all your needs as you travel around the country.  I think maybe he was that, but it could have been a genuine relaitionship.  Anyway, they were pretty affectionate toward one another.  It was up close and personal!  I don’t say this with a mean spirit or in a hateful way, but it was hard for me.  I was pretty uncomforatable!  But, it was a good experience because in spite of it, I still desired to see the salvation of God come to them.  They’re people just like you and me.  They love and desire affection just like you and me.  But in my own heart, I feel it’s an awful deception. 

In any case, be looking for pictures if you get my emails.  And be looking for more vacation posts!

In His love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mink ^-^ permalink
    October 16, 2007 3:15

    man! this post made me jealous! 🙂 while you’re getting suntanned out there on the beach, i am listening to the sound of nothing here. lol not that it’s boring…but…swimming in the ocean is something i’d die for now. 😀

    anyway, keep posting and i’ll keep reading your adventures. i have to admit…darn! i miss you! have a great break! i’ll see ya in two weeks. and by then, we really need to arrange some date!

    your friend,
    mink ^-^

Leave a Reply

