Skip to content

Thailand News

September 12, 2007

I haven’t updated on life here in the beautiful and wonderful country of Thailand in a long while, so I thought I might today. 

Teaching is going well.  I will continue to reiterate the fact that teaching IS HARD!  I really had no idea, and about once a week I reminisce of my days as a high school student, and I think off all the work my teachers did and I am thankful.  So, thank you Mr. Grooms, Mrs. Larson, Mr. Massey, Coach Kellogg, and others.  I had no idea what you did!

However, as hard as it is, I really enjoy it.  In fact, I look forward to next year (assuming I return), to teach with a year of experience under my belt.  I’m starting to see how to lay out a year long curriculum, and if I could start over, I would have a pretty good plan (in my opinion).  So if you read this blog and are trying to figure out what to do with your life and you enjoy learning and communicating knowledge, and you like kids, then I recommend teaching.  It is still my desire to be in a church ministry position at some point and I feel that “calling” is becoming more sure as the days go by, but teaching is a blessing and an option I am definitely open to.

Thailand is still roaring hot, but the mornings have become cooler.  In all honesty, the weather here is incredible.  Sometimes I long a fall season, but that’s mainly because I have a lot of cool “fall” clothes I like to wear!! 🙂 

I see elephants on an almost daily basis.  They are mainly the ones that are owned and walk down the street with their owners selling food to people.  I saw one elephant the other day play a harmonica.  I’m really sorry that I don’t have any pictures yet.  I ALWAYS forget my camera and then I see one.  I hope to see some elephants in a more appropriate setting (the country verses congested Bangkok) in October. 

I do want to let you in on a humbling statistic.  Many missionary organizations send their missionaries to the country and village people up in the north because they are the “unreached” people groups.  But Bangkok is a terribly unreached area itself.  There is a desparate need for men and women of God to come over here and establish churches, communities, orphanages, and live out the gospel of Christ.  There are approximately 350 churhces here in Bangkok.  That’s 350 churhes for 14 million people.  On the other hand, there are over 1400 hundred brothels.  There very well could be more prostitutes than Christians in Bangkok!

It’s a beautiful place with a beautiful people — but a people who desparately need to see and hear the gospel.  Pray to the Lord that he would send harvesters…

In His love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2007 12:55

    err…you can wear sexy jeans, eh?
    😛

Leave a Reply

