Skip to content

Sickness in Thailand

August 5, 2007

So…I have influenza.  At least that’s what the doctor tells me.  In any case, I got really sick last night with a bad case of chills and a high fever.  Not good.  Momma’s not here.  But there is some good news!

Being sick in a foreign country is pretty scary if you ask me.  Not only do you have to worry about the typical dangers of sickness that you would in the U.S., but you also have to be careful about stuff like Malaria.  Thankfully where I am Malaria is not that big of a deal, but it’s still scary.  The other big scare is that I got a case of Dangan Fever that is really going around right now.  It’s transmittable through  mosquito bites and can be quite dangerous.  But we did some blood work and I don’t have either of those illnesses.

I haven’t had the flu in a long time, and I’ve just got to say — it’s AWFUL!!  When you get sick like this your need a wife or a mom to take care of you and I have neither!! 😦  But thankfully I have a very close friend over here named Mink who was gracious enough to take me to the doctor and buy me Gatorade and so forth.  Thanks Mink!!

 Anyhow, I think I’m okay.  I have to use the bathroom every 30 minutes (gross eh?), and I’m just resting a whole lot.  Hopefully it will go away soon.  Say a quick prayer for me if you think about it.

 Enjoy the states (for my American friends)!  I really miss you guys!!

In His love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2007 9:48

    Now I learned that men could be completely different when they are sick. ;D

  2. tracey(MOM) permalink
    August 7, 2007 6:41

    Happy Birthday! I hope you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

